Home > Gundam > MG RX-78-2 Gundam OYW

MG RX-78-2 Gundam OYW

Spent this morning assembling MG OYW Gundam. Tried a different style of assembling this time round. Instead of assembling the whole kit first, I built up the frame before going on to the outer parts (and panel lining them as well).

Well, I haven’t actually watched the first Gundam series, so I wasn’t really influenced by the anime to buy this kit. Rather, I simply liked the RX-78-2’s design and wanted a MG of him. Was considering whether to get the MG ver2.0 or the OYW one, and I ended up getting OYW since it’s cheaper (though I’m probably getting the ver2.0 eventually anyway).

This kit is, well, not exactly very complicated. The inner frame is pretty simple, and this kit lacks a Core Fighter/block. Instead, a piece sculpted to look like the Fighter’s cockpit is placed behind the RX-78’s cockpit, making it seem like there’s an actual Core Block inside.

An interesting point about this kit are the legs. Unlike the other MGs I have so far, OYW’s leg inner frames are actually entirely on a single runner, as a single piece. Very interesting, and it even includes hydraulics on both legs.

Colorwise, OYW RX-78 looks pretty good. His white parts, however, aren’t exactly pure white. The white parts are actually kinda dull, unlike Freedom which had very white white parts. Another point to note is that the bazooka, rifle and backpack are all blue-purplish(?), while the ver2.0 has dark grey ones.

Now for the accessories. OYW RX-78 comes with a bazooka, beam rifle, 2 beam sabers, a shield, a mace thingy/ “Gundam HAMMER” (why is it called a hammer? O_o), and extra hands (leftover from the ver1.5, I guess). The bazooka and beam rifle can be attached behind, while the beam sabers and shield can be plugged into his backpack.

What I quite fancied about this is that there’re pegs molded into the palms, which can be plugged into holes on the weapons to let him hold the weapons more firmly. I had a lot of problems trying to get Freedom to hold his rifle, so I’m glad that OYW doesn’t have this problem.


Overall, a pretty good kit for a pretty good price. Not to mention that it’s actually much more solid compared to Guncannon.


Gallery:

Categories: Gundam
  1. September 25, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    This is one good kit…. But when i told my friend that I bought this, he raised his eyebrows. He said the Rx-78-2 design sucked. LOL. He doesn’t appreciate the earlier designs…. I however, like it! You should try the RG as well… Heard it is pretty good!

    • September 25, 2010 at 9:53 pm

      Lol, RG does look pretty good for a HG, but too bad it’s 1/144. 1/144s don’t look as impressive when displayed, compared to MG 1/100s. XD

  2. September 25, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    Looking good, really dugg the “bazooka” and sheild. also

  3. Radioactive Puppy
    September 26, 2010 at 2:14 am

    I don’t know about that. I try to buy MGs whenever I can but the RG RX-78 looks just awesome when it’s completely assembled.

    • September 26, 2010 at 1:16 pm

      Yeah, it does look pretty awesome from the pics I’ve seen, but it’ll be out of scale with my kits, since I’m trying to set 1/100 as a standard scale for my collection.

  4. September 27, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    looks like u don like HG

  5. Z
    November 15, 2010 at 8:03 am

    link!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

